Eight Days of Thanksgiving

A little parody to the Twelve Days of Christmas

As Thanksgiving approaches, I am becoming more conscious of the ways in which we grow apathetic towards the gifts of everyday life.  As I write this, I am eating a bowl of oatmeal with honey, cinnamon, and bananas.  I am relishing its textures and tastes.  I find myself focusing on the simple pleasure of eating.  When was the last time that happened?  Busyness deprives us of so many everyday marvels.  Then, I consider the complexities of tasks that were required for me to be able to consume this simple meal.  Not so simple when you really think about it!  It’s not as if oatmeal grows on trees in our backyards.  But, I like that visual!

So, here is my ode to Thanksgiving and all the common wonders of everyday living!

On the first day of Thanksgiving, my true love sent to me a new taste for life-flavored by the reality of NOW.

On the second day of Thanksgiving, my true love sent to me the insight that with my focus on the NOW, I have WON the present moment.

On the third day of Thanksgiving, my true love sent to me the feeling of peace gift-wrapped by each moment in time.  Each moment unique and wondrous.  Each moment, like a string of precious pearls,  making up the content of my life.

On the fourth day of Thanksgiving, my true love sent to me the voice of the past that extols my triumphs and sees my failures for what they really are – the courage to make mistakes.

On the fifth day of Thanksgiving, my true love sent to me the scent of clean fresh, opportunities.

On the sixth day of Thanksgiving, my true love sent to me the knowledge of the power of my choices to create opportunities in every moment.

On the seventh day of Thanksgiving, my true love sent to me an awareness that what I do with my moments matters.

On the eighth day of Thanksgiving, my true love sent to me an imperfect diamond that reflected the moments of humanity.  I saw myself in each reflection.  And, in the diamond’s imperfection, I saw the miracle that allows each imperfect reflection to create a prism of colors reflecting  the uniqueness in everyone and every moment.

Happy Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “Eight Days of Thanksgiving

  1. This was beautiful Mary Beth, just beautiful. Thank you for sharing your insights. Happy Thanksgiving to you – gratefulness is so contagious- thank you… Lois

  2. Love this, Mary Beth. So true. I love that so many are taking the days of November to practice gratitude, but it’s so life-changing when we continue to do it all our days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

